Shopify app comparison
Apps to hide, rename and reorder payment methods in Shopify, compared
Facts checked
Control checkout with Toolbench’s free Payment Rules module. Hide, rename or reorder payment methods with conditions. Choose it as one of any 3 active modules from 12 free tools, with no time limit.
Shopify's payment settings turn a method on or off for the whole store. Hiding cash on delivery above an order value, showing bank transfer only to wholesale customers, or renaming a method needs an app built on Shopify's payment customization Functions, which work on every plan.
All six apps here hide, rename and reorder payment methods. They differ in which conditions they can check, how many rules each plan allows, and whether a free plan can run rules on a live store.
THE TOOLBENCH ADVANTAGE
One job solved. More tools ready when you need them.
You want cart, product, customer and address conditions together with AND/OR logic and up to 50 rules on the free plan, and shipping and fulfillment rules in the same app. You don't need discount-code, currency, market or time-of-day conditions.
How Toolbench compares
| Feature | Toolbench YK Tech (publisher of this page) | HidePay Nextools | BeSure Checkout Rules StoreSpark | Payfy: Hide Payment Rules Cirkle Studio | Kip: Sort Hide Payment Methods Advan Software | Payflow: COD & Checkout Rules Appfleece |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free as one of any 3 free tools, with every condition and up to 50 rules on a live store. Premium $9.99/month runs all 16 tools. 14-day trial. | Free on development and Shopify Plus sandbox stores. Premium $3.99, Advanced $5.99, Ultimate $7.99/month. 7-day trial.[1] | Free plan tests rules only. Starter $4.99 (2 rules), Advanced $12.99, Premium $29.99/month. 5-day trial.[2] | Free on development and Plus sandbox stores. Basic $3.99 (2 rules), Advanced $5.99, Premium $9.99/month. 7-day trial.[3] | Free: 1 active hide rule, by cart total or weight. Kip Unlimited $3/month. 7-day trial.[4] | Free: 1 active rule with every condition. Premium $4.99/month (unlimited rules), Pro $9.99/month. No trial shown. Its website lists different plans.[5] |
| What it can do | ||||||
| Hide payment methods | Yes | Yes[1] | Yes[2] | Yes[3] | Yes[4] | Yes[5] |
| Rename them | Yes Methods shown as a logo can't be renamed. | Yes[6] Plan not stated. | Yes[7] | Yes[3] | Yes[4] The free plan lists only a hide rule. | Yes[5] |
| Reorder them | Yes Move to the top or bottom. | Yes[6] Plan not stated. | Yes[2] | Yes[3] | Yes[4] The free plan lists only a hide rule. | Yes[8] Top, bottom or a set position. |
| Conditions it can check | ||||||
| Cart subtotal | Yes | Yes[1] | Yes[9] | Yes[3] | Yes[4] On the free plan too. | Yes[10] |
| Number of items | Yes | Not stated | Yes[11] | Not stated | Not stated | Yes[10] |
| Cart weight | Yes | Paid plans[1] Premium plan. | Yes[11] | Yes[3] | Yes[4] On the free plan too. | Yes[10] |
| Product tag | Yes | Yes[12] Up to 3 tags. Plan not stated. | Yes[9] | Not stated | Not stated | Yes[13] |
| Collection | Yes | Yes[14] Plan not stated. | Yes[9] | Yes[15] | Not stated | Yes[10] |
| Vendor, product type and SKU | Yes | Not stated | Yes[16] | Not stated | Partly[4] SKU on the paid plan. Vendor and type not stated. | Yes[13] |
| Customer tag | Yes | Paid plans[1] Premium plan. | Yes[9] | Yes[3] | Paid plans[4] Kip Unlimited. | Yes[10] |
| Customer's order count and total spent | Yes | Partly[1] Total spent, on Premium. Order count not stated. | Yes[11] | Not stated | Not stated | Yes[17] Logged-in customers. |
| Logged in | Yes | Yes[18] Plan not stated. | Yes[11] | Not stated | Not stated | Yes[17] |
| B2B company buyer | Yes | Yes[19] By company name. Plan not stated. | Yes[16] | Yes[3] | Paid plans[20] Kip Unlimited. | Partly[17] Its docs say native B2B needs Shopify Plus; its website says every plan. |
| Country | Yes | Yes[1] | Yes[9] | Yes[3] | Paid plans[4] Kip Unlimited. | Yes[13] |
| State or province | Yes | Paid plans[21] Advanced plan. | Yes[9] | Not stated | Paid plans[22] Kip Unlimited. | Yes[13] |
| ZIP or postal code | Yes | Yes[23] Up to 10 codes. Plan not stated. | Yes[9] | Yes[3] | Paid plans[22] Kip Unlimited. | Yes[13] |
| Shipping method chosen | Yes | Paid plans[1] Premium plan. | Yes[11] | Yes[24] | Paid plans[4] Kip Unlimited. | Yes[13] |
| Other conditions | None beyond those above. | Discount applied, currency, Shopify Market, city, phone, weekday, cart attributes, selling plan.[25] | Discount code, language, currency, date and time, metafields, POS and more.[9] | Discount, PO box address, digital products; cart attributes and metafields on Premium.[3] | Digital products, city.[4] | Discount amount, Shopify Market, language, metafields, cart attributes and more.[10] |
| AND / OR logic | Yes | Paid plans[1] Advanced plan. | Yes[26] Plus if / else branching. | Not stated | Not stated Several conditions per rule on the paid plan. | Yes[5] On every plan. |
| Limits and scope | ||||||
| Rules allowed | 50 rules, up to 20 conditions each. | 5 on the free tier. Paid plans: not stated.[1] | 2, 5 or 25 payment rules, by plan.[2] | Basic 2. Advanced 25 on the listing, 5 in its help center.[3] | Free: 1 active hide rule. Paid: unlimited.[4] | Free: 1 active. Premium: unlimited on the listing, 25 on its website.[5] |
| Runs rules on a live store for free | Yes As one of any 3 free tools. | No[1] Free tier is for development and Plus sandbox stores. | No[27] Free plan only tests rules. | No[3] Free plan is for development stores. | Yes[4] 1 active hide rule. | Yes[5] 1 active rule. |
| Shipping rules in the same app | Yes Shipping Rules and Fulfillment Rules. | No[1] HideShip is a separate app, sold as a bundle. | Yes[2] | No[3] Payment methods only. | No[4] Payment methods only. | Yes[5] |
"Paid plans" means the feature is only on a paid plan. "Not stated" means the app's listing and documentation don't say either way.
Check the fit for your store
- It has no conditions for discount codes, currency, Shopify Markets, language or time of day.
- It doesn't hide express checkout buttons on product or cart pages, add cash on delivery fees, or block checkout.
- Methods shown as a logo, such as Shop Pay, PayPal and Apple Pay, can't be renamed. Shopify sets this for every app.
- Outside Shopify Plus, Shopify doesn't apply rules to credit card methods in some countries, including the US and Canada. This also applies to every app on this page.
- The free plan runs any 3 Toolbench tools at once, so Payment, Shipping and Fulfillment Rules together use all 3.
Questions
Can I hide credit card payment methods in the US without Shopify Plus?
No. Outside Shopify Plus, Shopify doesn't let apps hide, rename or move credit card methods in some countries, including the US and Canada. That limit applies to every app on this page. Rules for cash on delivery, bank transfer and other manual methods work on every plan.
Which of these apps can hide payment methods for free on a live store?
Toolbench runs Payment Rules free as one of any 3 free tools, with every condition. Payflow's free plan runs 1 active rule and Kip's runs 1 active hide rule. HidePay and Payfy are free only on development and Plus sandbox stores, and BeSure's free plan only tests rules.
Can these apps hide cash on delivery above an order amount?
Yes. All six can hide a payment method based on the cart total.
Do I need Shopify Plus to hide payment methods?
No. These apps use Shopify's payment customization Functions, which work on every plan. The credit card limit above is the main thing Plus changes.
Sources and comparison notes
Published by YK Tech Solutions, the maker of Toolbench. Competitor details are based on the linked sources, dated October 28, 2026; pricing and features may change. “Not stated” is not evidence that a feature is unavailable.
Toolbench's facts come from the app itself and its documentation.
- [1]https://apps.shopify.com/hidepay
- [2]https://apps.shopify.com/checkout-rules
- [3]https://apps.shopify.com/payfy-conditional-payments
- [4]https://apps.shopify.com/kip-customize-payment-methods
- [5]https://apps.shopify.com/payflow
- [6]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/sort-payment-methods
- [7]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/essentials/payment/rename-payment-methods
- [8]https://docs.payflow.appfleece.com/guides/payment-customization
- [9]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/essentials/condition-sets/condition-set-1
- [10]https://docs.payflow.appfleece.com/reference/conditions
- [11]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/essentials/condition-sets/condition-set-2
- [12]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/hide-payment-methods-by-product-tags
- [13]https://docs.payflow.appfleece.com/reference/condition-sets
- [14]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/abhi-how-to-hide-if-a-collection-of-products-is-in-the-cart-with-hidepay
- [15]https://www.cirklestudio.co/helpdesk/hide-cash-on-delivery-cod-payment-method-for-digital-product/
- [16]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/essentials/condition-sets/condition-set-4
- [17]https://docs.payflow.appfleece.com/conditions/customer
- [18]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/how-to-hide-payment-methods-for-not-log-in-customer
- [19]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/organize-shipping-rates-with-customer-tags-and-company-names
- [20]https://www.advansoftware.com/kip-sort-hide-payment-methods-shopify-app
- [21]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/how-to-use-province-code-the-newest-hide-pay-function
- [22]https://www.advansoftware.com/blog-posts/how-to-hide-payment-methods-by-country-in-shopify-checkout
- [23]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/how-to-manage-shipping-rates-based-on-zip-codes
- [24]https://www.cirklestudio.co/helpdesk/hide-payment-methods-by-shipping-options/
- [25]https://nextools.crunch.help/en/hide-pay-help-docs/
- [26]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/get-started/concepts
- [27]https://docs.checkoutrules.com/guides/en/essentials/payment/hide-payment-methods