Shopify app comparison

Shopify free shipping and shipping discount apps compared

Facts checked

Make the shipping rates you choose free with Toolbench’s Discount Rules, using cart, product, customer and address conditions. Premium includes this module and 15 other tools for $9.99/month. Discounts have no usage charge; order tracking is metered separately.

Shopify's free shipping discount makes every rate free, express included. Making only standard shipping free, or giving free shipping only to some customers or postcodes, needs an app that discounts the rates you choose.

All five apps here can discount chosen rates. They differ in which conditions they check, whether they show a progress bar, and how they're priced.

THE TOOLBENCH ADVANTAGE

One job solved. More tools ready when you need them.

You want shipping discounts with the full set of cart, product, customer and address conditions, plus tiered and buy X get Y discounts and 15 other tools, for $9.99. There's no progress bar.

How Toolbench compares

FeatureToolbench

YK Tech (publisher of this page)

Free Shipping Discounts ‑ SC

E-TRADE PARTNER

Octolize Shipping Discounts

Octolize

RM: Advanced Free Shipping

Responsive Media

Kite Discount, Free Gift, BOGO

Skai Lama

Pricing$7.99, $9.99 or $11.99/month, by your Shopify plan. Free for development stores. 7-day trial.[1]$4.99/month or $49.99/year. Free for development stores. 7-day trial.[2]$9.90/month. 7-day trial.[3]Free for 50 discounted orders a month, then $29. Growth $49, Pro $99/month. Free and Starter aren't for Shopify Advanced or Plus stores. 7-day trial.[4]
What it discounts
Only the rates you chooseYes[1]

By name or delivery type.

Yes[2]Yes[5]

By name; or all rates, the cheapest, or local delivery.

Yes[6]
Free, percentage or amount offYes[1]

Also a fixed price.

Yes[2]Yes[7]

Also a fixed price.

Yes[6]
Conditions it can check
Cart subtotal and item countYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[7]Yes[6]
Cart weightYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[7]Not stated
Products or collections in the cartYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[7]Partly[6]

Specific products.

Customer tagYes[1]Not stated[2]

Only a listing tag.

Yes[8]

Logged-in customers.

Paid plans[4]

Pro plan, through combined discounts.

Customer's order count or total spentNot statedNot statedPartly[8]

Order count, matched by email.

Not stated
B2B company buyerNot stated[1]

"Wholesale status" is mentioned.

Not statedNot stated[9]

Its docs use a customer tag for wholesale.

Not stated
CountryYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[7]Paid plans[4]

Markets, Starter plan and up.

State and ZIP codeNot stated[1]

ZIP is only a listing tag.

Not stated[2]

"Address" is stated; ZIP is only a listing tag.

Yes[10]

Exact, wildcard and ranges.

Not stated
AND / OR logicNot statedYes[2]Yes[5]Not stated
How it applies
Automatic and code discountsYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[3]Yes[6]
Start and end datesYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[7]Yes[4]
Progress bar toward free shippingNot statedNot statedNot statedPaid plans[4]

Goal-based bars, Starter plan and up.

Built on Shopify FunctionsPartly[11]

Stated for the developer's apps in general.

Not statedNot stated[8]

Says it creates native Shopify discounts.

Yes[4]

"Paid plans" means the feature is only on a paid plan. "Not stated" means the app's listing and documentation don't say either way.

Check the fit for your store

  • Discount Rules is part of Premium, not the free plan.
  • There's no progress bar or cart message toward free shipping.
  • It takes a percentage or amount off a rate; it can't set a rate to a fixed price.
  • Shopify applies one shipping discount per order. That applies to every app here.

Questions

Can I make standard shipping free but not express?

Yes, with any of these five apps, since each discounts only the rates you choose. Shopify's own free shipping discount applies to every rate.

Can more than one shipping discount apply to an order?

No. Shopify applies one shipping discount per order, as RM's and Kite's docs note.

Is there a free app for conditional free shipping?

Kite's free plan covers 50 discounted orders a month, except for stores on Shopify Advanced or Plus. The others start at $4.99 to $9.99 a month.

Sources and comparison notes

Published by YK Tech Solutions, the maker of Toolbench. Competitor details are based on the linked sources, dated October 28, 2026; pricing and features may change. “Not stated” is not evidence that a feature is unavailable.

Toolbench's facts come from the app itself and its documentation.

  1. [1]https://apps.shopify.com/etp-shipping-discount-offer
  2. [2]https://apps.shopify.com/shipping-discounts
  3. [3]https://apps.shopify.com/better-free-shipping
  4. [4]https://apps.shopify.com/kite-free-gift
  5. [5]https://responsive-media.gitbook.io/advanced-free-shipping/core-concepts/how-it-works
  6. [6]https://kite.skailama.app/en/article/how-to-set-up-end-to-end-shipping-discounts-with-kite-jailrh/
  7. [7]https://responsive-media.gitbook.io/advanced-free-shipping/getting-started/introduction
  8. [8]https://responsive-media.gitbook.io/advanced-free-shipping/support/faq
  9. [9]https://responsive-media.gitbook.io/advanced-free-shipping/common-use-cases/use-cases
  10. [10]https://responsive-media.gitbook.io/advanced-free-shipping/conditions-location/postcode-zip
  11. [11]https://etradepartner.io/

Guides for this job