Shopify app comparison
Shopify cart history and cart tracking apps compared
Facts checked
Toolbench’s Cart History module, currently in beta, records cart activity as part of a wider store toolkit. Premium includes all 16 modules for $9.99/month; the first 1,000 tracked orders are included, with additional tracking usage billed separately.
Shopify shows abandoned checkouts, not carts. A shopper who adds items and leaves before checkout leaves no trace in the admin, and you can't see what a customer removed before ordering.
These apps record carts. Three of them are built around a live feed of shoppers and cart analytics, with recovery tools. Toolbench's Cart History is built around the record: every change to a cart, tied to the customer and the order, shown on Shopify's own customer and order pages.
THE TOOLBENCH ADVANTAGE
One job solved. More tools ready when you need them.
You want each customer's carts, and the cart behind each order with what was removed, on Shopify's own customer and order pages, kept up to two years. It's a record for support and merchandising, not a live feed or a recovery tool, and it's in beta.
How Toolbench compares
| Feature | Toolbench YK Tech (publisher of this page) | Cartlytics Cartlytics | Cart Whisper | Live View Pro Cart Whisper | CartSpy Moose Media |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Premium, $9.99/month with a 14-day trial. Includes 1,000 orders tracked a month; only orders tied to a recorded cart count. Premium runs all 16 tools. | Free up to 25 orders a month. $9, $19 or $29/month, by orders a month (1,000 to 15,000). 14-day trial.[1] | $9.99/month (500 carts), $39.99 (2,500 carts) or $99 (7,000 carts), with per-cart overage on the larger plans. 7-day trial.[2] | $9.99, $19.99 or $39.99/month. 7-day trial. No free plan.[3] |
| What it records | ||||
| Each item added or removed, with the time | Yes | Yes[4] | Partly[5] Records cart changes over time. Removals and times aren't described separately. | Yes[6] In order. Times per event not stated. |
| Quantity changes | Yes | Not stated[1] Variant changes are listed. | Not stated | Not stated |
| Guest carts | Yes Anonymous until the shopper signs in, checks out or orders. | Yes[7] | Yes[2] | Yes[8] Shown as anonymous. |
| Ties the cart to the customer | Yes When they sign in (with its theme embed), check out or order. | Yes[1] When it's matched isn't stated. | Yes[5] Including assigning carts by hand. | Yes[8] When logged in or after entering details at checkout. |
| Ties the cart to the order placed | Yes Including what was removed before ordering. | Partly[4] Marks the cart converted. A link to the order isn't stated. | Not stated | Yes[6] |
| Where you see it | ||||
| On Shopify's order and customer pages | Yes In the Tools block. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Live feed of shoppers and carts | No A list of carts and their status, not a live visitor feed. | Yes[1] | Yes[2] | Yes[6] |
| Traffic and conversion analytics | Partly Cart counts and the share tied to a customer or an order. | Yes[1] | Yes[2] | Yes[3] |
| CSV export | No | Yes[1] | Yes[2] | Paid plans[3] Advanced plan. |
| Storefront and extras | ||||
| What it adds to your storefront | A theme app embed: an inline script of about 2 KB, only for signed-in shoppers. Nothing for guests. | No code to add. How it tracks isn't described.[7] | A cart-page widget and exit-intent popups.[9] | A Shopify web pixel; no theme scripts.[6] |
| Abandoned cart recovery | No | Yes[1] Built-in emails or Klaviyo. | Yes[2] Exit-intent popups, cart widget and Cart IDs. | No[10] A retargeting export instead. |
| Turn a cart into a draft order | No | Yes[1] | Yes[2] | Not stated |
| How long carts are kept | Guest carts 30 days, up to 90. Carts tied to a customer or order 365 days, up to 730. | Unlimited on Scale. Other plans not stated.[1] | 14, 60 or 90 days, by plan.[2] | Days or weeks, by plan.[10] |
"Paid plans" means the feature is only on a paid plan. "Not stated" means the app's listing and documentation don't say either way.
Check the fit for your store
- Cart History is part of Premium, and it's in beta.
- There's no live feed of visitors, no recovery emails or popups, and no conversion to draft orders.
- It records online store carts from your theme, not headless storefronts, POS or draft orders.
- Guest carts stay anonymous until the shopper signs in, checks out or orders.
- It records from the moment it's turned on, and doesn't export to CSV.
Questions
Can I see abandoned carts in Shopify, not just abandoned checkouts?
Not natively. Shopify only lists checkouts where the shopper entered contact details. All four apps here record carts from the first item added, including carts that never reach checkout.
Which of these apps slows down my store the least?
None publishes a measured figure you can compare. Toolbench adds a script of about 2 KB only for signed-in shoppers and nothing for guests, CartSpy uses a Shopify web pixel and adds no theme scripts, and Cartlytics says its impact is minimal.
Do these apps send abandoned cart emails?
Cartlytics sends recovery emails or works with Klaviyo. Cart Whisper recovers carts with popups and a cart-page widget. CartSpy and Toolbench don't send emails.
Sources and comparison notes
Published by YK Tech Solutions, the maker of Toolbench. Competitor details are based on the linked sources, dated October 28, 2026; pricing and features may change. “Not stated” is not evidence that a feature is unavailable.
Toolbench's facts come from the app itself and its documentation.
- [1]https://apps.shopify.com/cartlytics
- [2]https://apps.shopify.com/cartwhisper-checkoutsaver
- [3]https://apps.shopify.com/cartspy
- [4]https://cartlytics.co/articles/en/getting-started-with-cartlytics
- [5]https://cartwhisper.com/cart-details
- [6]https://cartspy.app/live-cart-tracking
- [7]https://cartlytics.co/articles/en/faq
- [8]https://cartspy.app/who-is-on-my-store
- [9]https://cartwhisper.com/cart-widget
- [10]https://cartspy.app/abandoned-cart-analytics