Shopify app comparison

Shopify audit log and product change history apps compared

Facts checked

Toolbench brings product, collection and discount change history into one app, with before-and-after values. These are free modules: choose any 3 of 12 free tools and keep using them with no time limit.

Shopify keeps no history of product edits, so once a price, description or SEO title changes, the old value is gone. These apps record changes as they happen, or back the store up so you can compare versions.

They differ most in three places: which records they cover beyond products, whether they can undo a change, and how they deal with Shopify's biggest gap. Shopify doesn't tell apps which staff member made most product edits, so every app that names staff has a condition attached, and the table says what it is.

THE TOOLBENCH ADVANTAGE

One job solved. More tools ready when you need them.

You want price, cost, SKU, SEO and image edits logged with before-and-after values across your whole catalog with no product limit, plus collections and discounts, on the free plan. Premium adds orders and customers. It doesn't undo changes, send alerts or export.

How Toolbench compares

FeatureToolbench

YK Tech (publisher of this page)

Rewind Backups

Rewind

Loggr Product History & Revert

Kodence

SO: Product History & Revert

Miso Apps

Histora: Product Audit Log

AskSlate

Logify: Activity & Staff Logs

Tabgraf.com

PricingFrom $19/month for up to 300 orders a month; Protection Suite $99/month for up to 600. Higher order bands priced on Rewind's site. 7-day trial, no free plan.[1]$13.99 to $59.99/month, by number of products tracked (30 to 15,000). 5-day trial, no free plan.[2]Free plan for 10 products. Paid $7.99 to $34.99/month, by products tracked (30 to 15,000). 7-day trial.[3]Lite $4.99/month. Full History $14.99/month plus a usage charge per audit log (amount not shown on the listing). 7-day trial.[4]$19 to $99/month, by logs per month (100K to 3.6M). 7-day trial, no free plan.[5]
Product fields recorded
Price and compare-at priceYes[6]

In daily backups. Compare-at is on Rewind's site, not its help article's list.

Partly[2]

Pricing is listed; compare-at isn't mentioned.

Yes[7]Yes[8]Not stated[5]

Products are logged, but the fields aren't listed.

Cost per itemNo[9]

Listed as unsupported.

Not statedNot stated

Only mentioned for restoring deleted products.

Yes[8]Not stated
SKU and barcodeYes[9]Partly[10]

SKU, per the developer's blog. Barcode isn't mentioned.

Not stated

Only mentioned for restoring deleted products.

Yes[8]Not stated
SEO title and descriptionNot statedNot statedYes[3]Yes[8]Not stated
ImagesYes[9]Yes[2]Yes[3]Yes[4]Not stated
MetafieldsYes[1]Yes[2]Yes[3]Paid plans[4]

Full History plan.

Not stated
Inventory quantityNo[9]

Listed as unsupported.

Yes[10]

Per the developer's blog; not on the listing.

Not statedNot statedYes[5]
Beyond products
CollectionsYes[6]

Backed up, with smart collection rules.

Not statedPartly[7]

A product's collection membership only.

Not statedNot stated
DiscountsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
OrdersYes[9]

Backed up, not automatically restored.

No[11]Not statedNot statedYes[5]
CustomersYes[9]

Backed up.

No[11]Not statedNot statedYes[12]
How changes are shown
Old and new value side by sidePartly[13]

Compares a daily backup version with the current one.

Yes[2]Yes[3]Yes[14]Not stated[15]

Docs mention comparing modifications, not a side-by-side view.

Which staff member made a changeNot statedPaid plans[2]

Advanced plan and up. The listing scopes it to product status changes.

Partly[7]

Create, delete, publish and status changes, and edits made in the app. Other field edits show "Unknown".

Partly[14]

Only edits made through Histora's admin block.

Partly[12]

Needs every staff member to install its Chrome extension.

Saves the current catalog when installedYes[16]

First backup runs on install.

Not statedNot statedYes[14]Not stated
How long history is kept365 days.[1]As long as the store uses the app.[11]1 to 24 months, by plan.[3]Up to 365 days by default, configurable.[14]Last 60 days, on every plan.[5]
Extras
Undo a changeYes[17]

Restores an item to a backed-up version.

Paid plans[2]

Advanced plan and up.

Yes[3]

Free plan: 10 reverts a month.

No[14]

Restores deleted products and images only.

Not stated
Change alertsPaid plans[1]

Bulk-change alerts on Protection Suite.

Not statedPaid plans[3]

Email alerts on Scale and Enterprise.

Not statedYes[5]

Slack, email or webhook.

CSV exportNot statedNot statedNot statedPartly[4]

Price history.

Yes[5]
Product or volume limitPriced by orders per month.[1]30 to 15,000 products, by plan.[2]10 to 15,000 products, by plan.[3]No limit stated; Full History charges per audit log.[4]100K to 3.6M logs a month, by plan.[5]

"Paid plans" means the feature is only on a paid plan. "Not stated" means the app's listing and documentation don't say either way.

Check the fit for your store

  • It can't undo a change. It shows the exact earlier value so you can copy it back in the Shopify admin.
  • It doesn't send change alerts or export history to CSV.
  • It doesn't record metafields or inventory quantity changes.
  • It can't name the staff member behind most product edits, because Shopify doesn't send that to apps. View History shows who had the product open, on pages where the Tools block is added.
  • It records from the moment a tool is turned on, with no history from before.

Questions

Can any app show which staff member changed a product in Shopify?

Not for every edit. Shopify doesn't tell apps who made most product field edits, so each app works around it differently: SO and Histora name the staff member for edits made inside their own app or block, Logify asks every staff member to install a Chrome extension, Loggr offers it on its Advanced plan and up, and Toolbench shows who had the product open when it changed.

Which of these apps can undo a product change?

Rewind restores items to a backed-up version, SO reverts on every plan (10 reverts a month on its free plan), and Loggr reverts on its Advanced plan and up. Toolbench and Histora don't revert field edits.

Is there a free product change history app for Shopify?

Toolbench's Product Change History is free with no product limit, as one of any 3 free tools. SO has a free plan for up to 10 products.

What's the difference between a backup app and an audit log?

A backup app saves copies of your store on a schedule so you can restore an item; Rewind backs up daily. An audit log records each edit as it happens, with the old and new value and the time.

Sources and comparison notes

Published by YK Tech Solutions, the maker of Toolbench. Competitor details are based on the linked sources, dated October 28, 2026; pricing and features may change. “Not stated” is not evidence that a feature is unavailable.

Toolbench's facts come from the app itself and its documentation.

  1. [1]https://apps.shopify.com/backup
  2. [2]https://apps.shopify.com/loggr-product-history-revert
  3. [3]https://apps.shopify.com/so-history-revert
  4. [4]https://apps.shopify.com/histora
  5. [5]https://apps.shopify.com/activity-logs
  6. [6]https://rewind.com/products/backups/shopify/
  7. [7]https://misoapps.com/blog/shopify-change-unknown-author
  8. [8]https://www.histora.app/privacy-policy
  9. [9]https://help.rewind.com/hc/en-us/articles/27722238895003
  10. [10]https://kodence.com/shopify-product-edit-history/
  11. [11]https://kodence.com/loggr-product-edit-history-revert-privacy-policy
  12. [12]https://tabgraf.com/products/logify
  13. [13]https://help.rewind.com/hc/en-us/articles/39202955912859
  14. [14]https://www.histora.app
  15. [15]https://tabgraf.com/docs/logify
  16. [16]https://help.rewind.com/hc/en-us/articles/47452410632731
  17. [17]https://help.rewind.com/hc/en-us/articles/47467814155035

Guides for this job